Tags

, , , , , , ,

Perhaps more than ever, I must warn you away from this post if you don’t want the movie spoiled, as I can’t talk about movies in-depth without spoiling them. Especially not movies like this. Got that? Well, let’s press on.

STORY

This movie is even darker than its predecessor, and perfects that tone to a T, on top of that. I’ll admit that I was a little put off by how built-up the second meeting with the Colonel was in the first hour, but the fact that that hour flew by at a very quick pace (for me, at least) should tell you something. Once that second meeting with the Colonel happened, though, the movie started getting really, really good. By the end, I was utterly and completely enthralled. The story is so well-crafted that it’s hard to even know how to say why. I’m gonna give it…
Story Grade: 98% (A+)

CHARACTERS

The apes are as interesting as ever, and the introduction of “Bad Ape” could’ve very well turned out horribly, and too distracting from the movie’s tone, but they knew exactly when to use him. And here’s the best part: While downplayed in comparison to the previous two movies, the human aspect of the story is actually great and not bland in comparison. The Colonel is one of the best villains I’ve ever seen on film, not just because of how evil he is, but because of how understandable his evil is, which almost makes the line between what’s right and wrong in this movie so gray that there’s no “black” to compliment it. What else can I offer except the tip of my hat?

Characterization Grade: 100% (A+)

SCRIPT

About on par with the script of “Dawn,” so I’ll repeat the grade I gave there.

Script Grade: 95% (A)

DIRECTION

The best direction I’ve ever seen of any movie in the trilogy so far. I mean, the motion capture technology was pushed so far, and the action scene at the end is pure eye candy. And the expressions of both the apes is incomparable, and the body language expressed by the speaking and mute humans is incredibly expressive.

Directing Grade: 100% (A+)

ACTING

For Caesar’s first fluently speaking role, Andy Serkis once again cemented his status as the Master of Motion Capture. Woody Harrelson is wonderful, and the actress playing Nova is brilliant.

Acting Grade: 100% (A+)

ACTION

Like I said, pure eye candy, and caring about what happens is more important to its effect in this movie than ever.

Action Grade: 100% (A+)

EXECUTION

This movie does indeed have “it,” and I love it. What more can be said?

Execution Grade: 100% (A+)

FINAL THOUGHTS

What more can I say? I’d have to see it again to find anything else to say.

Final Grade: 92% (A-)

Personal Final Grade: 100% (A+)

So, would I like to see more in this series? If they’re gonna be as good as “Dawn” or even “Rise,” I’d say yes. That’s all for now. See you soon!

